Menu on a budget $50 a week

Here is a look at the menu from last week and a peek at what is coming up this week. Just a side note, I did not start this challenge with empty cupboards I had several items on had just as I always do. I also make my own cinnamon rolls and some of our bread and I have two tomato plants that provide me with fresh tomatoes that I use to make all of my own spaghetti sauce. I buy most of my produce at Superior and Price Right Markets I find they have the best price and their produce is always fresh. I get my meats wherever there is a sales and divide larger packages down to meal size quantities.

Breakfast

Pancakes, Oatmeal, Cinnamon Rolls, Cereal, Boiled Eggs , Chorizo and Eggs, Sandwiches

I always include fruit and milk with breakfast.

Lunches

PB & J, leftover stew, leftover chicken nuggets, egg salad sandwiches, ham and cheese sandwiches, mac n cheese.

All packed lunches include fruit ( apples, bananas, raisins or melon) water or Capri Sun Roaring Water, chips and a goody ( cookie, brownie or cupcakes).

Dinner

Flautas, chimichangas, Watermelon, Raw Veggies w dip

Chicken Nuggets , Baked Beans, Veggies and Fruit

Beef Stew w Biscuits, Salad 

Baked Chicken, Mashed Potatoes and Corn

Leftovers, Salad and fruit

Chili w Corn Bread , Salad

Chicken Fried Steak, Mashed Potatoes and Veggies

Tacos, Melon

Mini Meatloaves, Mashed Potatoes, salad

Potato Soup, biscuits and fruit

Leftovers, Salad and fruit

BBQ Chicken, Potato Salad, Baked Beans and Melon

Paper Napkins $0.99
5 bananas $0.40
2 1/2 lbs. Chicken Breast pieces $4.19
1.5 lbs Carrots $0.77
2 cantaloupes $1.44
2.5 lbs pinto beans $0.80
5 doz eggs $3.00
2 .5 lbs Ground Beef $4.50
2 cabbage $0.48
Chorizo $1.29
5 lbs. rice $1.69
6 onions $0.38
1 Honey Dew $0.81
10 chicken thighs $2.19
Butter $8.79
yeast $4.38
milk $2.45
Total for the week $38.55
3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kasey said,

    WOW nice job…. hope everyone enjoys the meals.. they all look yummy

  2. 2

    Nikki said,

    That Skillet Stew with biscuits looks positively yummy! I think I want to come eat at your house. 🙂

  3. 3

    Nancy said,

    Um, I’m thinking that I need to go shopping with you sometime!! 5 bananas for .40??? And I need some of your recipes!!!! That stew looked amazing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

