One Amazing Crafter

As I stated in my legacy blog, I come from a long line of crafty women with both of my grandmothers being very handy. Here is one of the crafters I admire most, my mother. I began sewing and cooking with my mom when I was still in elementary school and although she had to give up sewing several years ago due to the loss of her eyesight she has continued to knit.  Here she is knitting a baby blanket for what will be her newest great-granddaughter. 

My mother is totally blind and knits using braille and recorded patterns.  I have yet to learn to knit or crochet so this is an art form I am in awe of and I  am truly amazed by the way she is able to count her stitches and can even recognize when she has dropped stitch.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Pops said,

    The little one this blanket will be for is actually a Great Granddaughter.

  2. 2

    Kasey said,

    Truly wonderful to watch…. I can remember her ever not knitting something.. at all times

  3. 3

    Nikki said,

    Great pictures! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. 4

    Pops said,

    Kim, Along with the Braille and recorded patterns she also has a slave that sits and read patterns for her.

  5. 5

    Barb said,

    My mom is an incredible knitter and losing her sight. I was looking for ideas for gifts when your blog about your mother came up. AMAZING. I have been taking patterns and “enlarging” them which tickled my mom to no end. So many patterns are difficult enough. I love the idea of recording. Thank you.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

